Johnson & Johnson China Ltd.

Investment and operation

With more than 100 years of history, Johnson & Johnson (JNJ) is the world's most broadly based healthcare company discovering, developing, and manufacturing consumer health, pharmaceuticals, and medical devices and diagnostics products. With over 275 operating companies, Johnson & Johnson has approximately 128,000 employees in 60 countries and markets its products throughout the world. It has been ranked among the top of the global Most Admired Companies by Fortune for years.

Johnson & Johnson has been committed to its development in China. Established in Shanghai Minhang Economic & Technological Development Zone in January 1992 with a registered capital of more than $100 million, Johnson & Johnson China Ltd. is the first wholly-funded enterprise set up by Johnson & Johnson. It is committed to producing and promoting high quality personal health care products catering for consumers of various ages, and driving the health care of Chinese families. Its products are not only sold in domestic consumer market, but also exported to international markets.  

In July 2006, Johnson & Johnson set up Emerging Market Innovation Center (EMIC) in Shanghai, and put it into operation in October 2007. This is the first large-sized R&D center in Asia-Pacific region. Engaged in the R&D of various consumer health care products, the EMIC has boosted the company’s business innovation in China and Asia-Pacific region.

Despite the huge challenge from the global financial crisis, The Fountain Project completed to expand production capacity in Minhang, Shanghai in May 2010. This investment decision fully demonstrated Johnson & Johnson’s confidence in China’s development. The newly completed project is a benchmark plant, taking the lead in China's cosmetics sector to reach Class 100,000 clean room standard in its filling workshop, and the high-speed bottling line was 60% faster than previous one. In the process of project implementation, the use of sustainable and LEAN concept and the maximum adoption of energy-conserving and environmental-friendly materials and technologies can improve production capacity by 85%, and save about 24,000 tons of water and nearly $100,000 worth electric power and gas energy consumption every year. No safety accident occurred during the construction, and new records were set in energy conservation, environmental protection, low carbon operation, and safety. Besides, the operation of the project promoted the favorable development of the upstream and downstream industries.

Corporate culture

Our Credo defines the premium code of conduct of Johnson & Johnson's affiliates around the world. The fundamental reason for our long-term sustainable development is our corporate social responsibility spelled out in Our Credo. Like many of our other OpCos in China, Johnson & Johnson China Ltd., on the one hand, ensures high quality products, advanced technology and philosophy, safe workplace, environmental protection, and employees' rights and interests, and provides a platform for employee growth; one the other, we shoulder responsibility for the communities where we live and work. Caring to the whole world and each individual encourages all of us to stay closer.

The mission of Johnson & Johnson China Ltd. is to become the most reliable consumer health care product provider in China. It is committed to producing and selling high quality health care products to enhance the health of Chinese families.

Our philosophy is to "bringing science to the art of healthy living".

Products available

The product line of the company has expanded from baby care at the beginning to women's health care, skin care, and oral health care. In September 1992, the century-old Johnson's baby brand was launched in China. With the efforts in two decades, the brand has become a reliable baby care expert in the eyes of numerous Chinese mothers. Subsequently, a wide range of Johnson's well-known brands were launched in China--o.b. tampons was launched in April 1993; Stayfree napkins and pads were launched in China in June 1995 and January 1997 respectively; Clean & Clear made its debut in China in August 1997; later, Neutrogena has become a leading skin care brand thanks to its outstanding quality since 2004. These brands are well received in China by women of various ages; in 2006, another century-old brand Listerine mouthwash started to usher in a new stage of oral health care for Chinese consumers; in August 2009 we launched new brand: Johnson's body care, which won the favor of consumers as soon as they became available in China.

We have been giving top priority to our product quality and consumers' interests, honoring our commitment to consumers in the process of rigorous quality control. To ensure product quality and safety, we start with strict selection of product ingredients. We only select widely verified safe and effective ingredients. All of our products will be subject to rigid evaluation and inspection of relevant institutions before they are launched. Upon launch, we make constant improvement according to the feedbacks of consumers and doctors as well as the up-to-date scientific data, so as to ensure increasingly perfect product quality. Our high quality products have become integral part of people's daily lives. We also devote ourselves to the communication of health knowledge, with a view to enabling consumers to gain opportunities to benefit from medical knowledge while using our products.

Over the more than 100 years, the successful experience and practice of Johnson & Johnson has made us more confident in employing the newest scientific concepts to establish lifetime ties with more Chinese families, and to provide a wider range of more outstanding health care products for them.

Environmental protection and sustainable development

We are committed to providing the best working environmental for our employees. We have had the advanced E.H.S. management concept introduced in the Minhang plant, devoting to energy conservation and emissions reduction, cleaner production, and recycling of resources in the process of production and the whole product life cycle; we have been focusing on environmental protection, occupation health and safety management. As for COD emissions, energy consumption, water consumption, and waste water discharge have been reducing, as we have realized and maintained the environmental achievements without any pollution accident, out of limits accidents, environmental punishment, or complaint. In 2008 and 2009, the company won such titles and honors awarded by Minhang District of Shanghai as Environmental-Friendly Enterprise, Award for Energy Conservation and Emissions Reduction, and Garden Entity.

At present, we are adopting the sustainable development strategy consistent with the global practice; we have introduced the same evaluation system to deal with product design, packaging, manufacturing, storage and transport, logistics, and marketing etc. In so doing, we reduce environmental impact, and we adopt low carbon and economical means to quantify the reduction of greenhouse gas emissions so as to realize the Healthy Future 2015 Goals of Johnson & Johnson.

Corporate social responsibility

The core values of Johnson & Johnson are articulated in a document called "Our Credo". Over the past 60 years, Our Credo has been guiding us to fulfill our responsibilities for consumers, customers, employees, communities, and shareholders as well. In China, such care-based core values are interpreted as "Yin Ai Er Sheng (因爱而生)", which means "because we care, we act". With the values, Johnson & Johnson is committed to growing in China and contributing back to society while providing high quality products; the company has been making positive efforts to carry forward corporate social responsibility; it engages in various forms of corporate social responsibility events targeting at people of all ages including infants, children, youth, adults, and senior citizens, and assists hospitals and communities with public health education, helping people help others and bringing positive impact to the health and quality of life of Chinese families.

Over the past 20-plus years, with the guidance of relevant governmental departments of China, Johnson & Johnson has successfully initiated and supported dozens of philanthropic or health education programs in China, including Johnson's Baby Touch Program, Caring Campaign for Work-N-Pump Moms, Neonatal Resuscitation Program, Maternity School, Prevention of Mother-to-Child AIDS Transmission, Baby Doula Program, Education of Adolescence, Mental Health Education Program, and Johnson & Johnson Family Health Initiative, Healthier Life, Better Further program for providing self-protection and health care knowledge to migrant workers' children. These programs are carried out in hospitals, communities,and schools. saving numerous mothers and newborns at risk, and providing Chinese families with leading mother and infant health and care as well as adolescence psychological education. It is noteworthy that Johnson's Baby Touch Program introduced in 1995 has benefited more than 11 million new moms, and more than 800 hospitals have built up standard Johnson's Baby touch rooms, and the program was included into the Best Cases for China Corporate Responsibility by China Association of Enterprises with Foreign Investment in 2007. In 2012, Johnson's Baby initiated "Spare Space, Spread Love" campaign for creating a better space for working mothers for feeding and pumping, promoting breast-feeding among new moms who have got back to work after maternity leave. Nearly 30,000 temporary nursing room stickers have been applied to create temporary space for work-n-pump moms. The campaign has earned numerous new moms' nods.

In face of such natural disasters as Wenchuan Quake, Yushu Quake, tsunami, typhoon, ice and snow, and flood, Johnson & Johnson has been unhesitating to give a helping hand. Johnson & Johnson has been recognized as the most admired employer or best company with corporate social responsibility on many occasions in China and the world.

We also teamed up with other enterprises of Johnson & Johnson in China to carry out the following public welfare campaigns, and won the Award for 2009 China Top 10 Charitable Enterprises in 2009 and The 8th China Charity Award, etc.:

  • Supported China Red Cross for the building of China Marrow Donor Program, and called for Johnson & Johnson employees to be part of donation campaign. So far, nearly 2800 employees have become blood sample donation volunteers in China. In 2007, Johnson and Johnson won “China Red Cross Medal” in 2007.
  • Johnson & Johnson began to assist with the Mother Safety Program initiated by the United Nations Children’s Fund, and partnered with Tibet Working Committee on Women and Children to advocate in the five pilot counties of Tibet the education program for birth in hospitals, and extended the program to cover seven counties in Tibet.
  • Supported the Mother-Infant Safety Program initiated by Shanghai Song Ching Ling Foundation in view of the relatively backward medical and health conditions in the western region, including low level of women and children health care, and high incident rate of death of pregnant and puerperal women as well as infants during the perinatal period. 
  • Provided assistance to Fuyang AIDS Orphan Salvation Association. Assisted more than 876 AIDS orphans, and supported the healthy growth of children under the influence of AIDS and poverty.
  • Supported Safety Kids Program to help more than 6 millions parents and children to be aware of the potential risks in life so as to avoid children's accidental injuries.
  • Assisted the global business ethics courses held by Junior Achievement to help more than 13,700 students of universities program covered in China to establish proper professional ethics and value orientation.

Johnson & Johnson has long been supporting various events of China for going global. It was a global partner of Beijing 2008 Olympic Games and Paralympic Games. Moreover, it positively participated in and backed up the World Expo 2010 Shanghai as the top sponsor of the USA Pavilion, and launched the “Small Acts, Big Impact” initiative to honor its commitment to the society.

强生(中国)有限公司

投资与经营状况:

拥有逾百年历史的美国强生公司是世界上最具综合性、业务分布范围最广泛的健康护理产品制造和服务企业,为消费品、制药以及医疗器材和诊断产品市场提供全面的产品及服务,在全球60个国家拥有250多家运营公司,雇员12.8万名,在世界各地均有其产品销售。强生公司连续多年名列《财富》“全球最受尊敬的公司”排行榜前列。

强生公司一直注重在中国的发展,强生(中国)有限公司1992年1月在上海闵行经济技术开发区注册成立,注册资本超过一亿美元,是强生公司在中国大陆设立的首家独资企业,致力于生产和推广高品质的适合各年龄段人群的个人卫生护理用品,推动中国家庭健康护理水平的提高。公司的产品在供应中国国内消费品市场的同时,还出口供应国际市场。

2006年7月,强生在上海设立了全球级别新兴市场创新中心(EMIC),并于2007年10月投入使用。这是强生首次在亚太地区设立的大规模研发中心,从事各类消费护理产品的研发工作,该研发中心带动了强生在中国以及亚太地区的业务创新。

2010年5月,尽管面对全球金融危机的巨大挑战,强生液体车间产能扩建项目仍如期在闵行竣工,这项投资决策充分彰显了强生总部对中国经济发展的信心。新落成的液体车间产能扩建项目是一个标杆工厂,在国内化妆品行业率先达到灌装车间10万级洁净标准,高速灌装线的速度比以前提高了60%。在项目实施过程中,运用可持续发展和精益生产(Lean)的理念,最大限度地选用节能、环保材料和技术,在产能提高85%的情况下,每年还可节约24,000吨水、近10万美元的电力及燃气的能源消耗。在施工过程当中,没有发生任何一起安全事故,在节能、环保、低碳运营以及安全方面都创造了新的纪录。这个项目还带动了上下游产业的良性发展。

公司文化:

强生信条(Our Credo)是强生在全球所有子公司的最高行为准则。信条从根本上诠释了企业社会责任是强生保持长期可持续发展的基因,同其他强生在华企业一样,强生(中国)有限公司在保障高品质产品、先进技术和科技理念、安全工作环境、环境保护、员工权益和为员工提供发展平台的同时,更把向我们所生活和工作的社区提供帮助视为理应承担的社会责任。关爱全世界,关注每个人——正是这种精神鼓舞着所有强生人并将我们凝聚在一起。

强生(中国)有限公司的使命是成为中国最受信赖的消费类健康保健公司。公司致力于生产和销售高品质的个人保健产品,以增进中国消费者及家庭的健康水准。

我们的理念是将科学融入健康生活的艺术中。

产品上市情况

公司的产品线由最初的婴儿护理扩展到妇女卫生护理、皮肤护理和口腔护理等领域。1992年9月,具有百年历史的强生婴儿品牌在中国上市,经过二十年的悉心耕耘,强生婴儿已成为广大中国妈妈们心目中可信赖的婴儿护理专家。此后,又有多种强生明星品牌在中国上市,其中包括:强生o.b.卫生棉条于1993年4月上市;娇爽卫生巾和卫生护垫分别于1995年6月和1997年1月推向国内市场;1997年8月,可伶可俐品牌亮相中国;之后上市的露得清以其卓越的品质为消费者提供真正肌肤护理解决方案,成为皮肤护理领域的领导品牌;这些品牌都受到了中国不同年龄段女性的欢迎;2006年,强生公司的又一个百年品牌李施德林漱口水也成为强生中国消费品口腔护理的一员,开始引领中国消费者步入口腔护理的新阶段;2009年8月,强生美肌新品牌一上市就迅速赢得了消费者的广泛认可。

强生始终将产品的质量和消费者的利益置于首要关注地位,把对消费者的承诺落实在严格的“零缺陷”质量管理过程之中。为确保产品质量安全,从严格选择产品成分开始,我们只遴选已被广泛证实安全、有效的成分。在上市之前,我们所有的产品都经过有关机构的严格评估、检验。上市后,我们根据消费者和医生的反馈和最新科学数据,不断地改进产品,以确保产品日臻完美。强生所创造的优质产品逐渐成为人们日常生活不可或缺的部分。强生也同样积极致力于健康与保健知识的宣传工作,使消费者在使用强生产品的同时,有机会获得更多有益的医学知识。

一百多年来,强生在健康和卫生护理领域的成功经验及实践,使我们更有信心运用最新的科学理念与更多中国家庭建立终身纽带,提供更多、更优秀的健康护理产品和服务。

环境保护与可持续发展

公司始终将安全和环境保护放在经营策略的首位,致力于为员工提供最佳工作环境。强生把先进的E.H.S.管理理念引入上海闵行工厂,致力于产品生产过程以及在整个产品生命周期方面节能减排、清洁生产、资源再利用,注重保护环境、职业健康与安全的管理,万元产值COD排放、能耗、水耗、废水排放连续下降,已经连续实现并保持了零污染事故、零环境超标事故、零环境处罚事故、零环保投诉的环保业绩。2008、2009年,公司连续获得上海市闵行区环境友好企业、上海市闵行区节能减排优胜奖、上海市闵行区花园单位等荣誉。

目前,我们正采取全球一致的可持续发展战略,引进相同的评价体系,从产品的设计、包装、制造、储运、物流、销售等各个阶段入手,不但减少环境影响,而且采用低碳经济的手段,量化减少温室气体的排放,实现强生总部健康未来2015的环境目标。

企业社会责任

强生公司的核心价值在公司的信条中得以明确的阐述。在过去的70年里,这个简明的公司信条文件一直引导着强生履行对消费者以及客户、员工、社区以及股东的责任。在中国,这些以关爱为本的核心价值被诠释为“因爱而生”。本着因爱而生的精神,我们除了提供优质的产品,还扎根于中国,致力于回馈社会,积极弘扬企业社会责任,围绕婴儿、儿童、青少年、成人和老年人等各个年龄段人群,积极组织和开展不同形式和内容的企业社会责任活动,协助医院和社区开展公众健康教育,努力帮助着那些需要帮助和关爱他人的人,给中国家庭的健康水平和生活品质带来了积极的变化。

在过去的二十余年中,在中国有关政府部门的指导下,公司在中国发起并支持了超过数十个公益或健康教育项目,在促进医疗健康事业方面取得了不少的成就,其中比较有影响力的项目包括:强生婴儿抚触项目、强生婴儿背奶妈妈活动、新生儿窒息复苏、孕妇学校、母婴艾滋病阻断、婴儿导乐项目、青少年青春期教育、强生家庭健康关爱计划、为外来务工子女提供自我防护及健康知识的“健康生活,美好未来”项目等社会公益活动进入医院、社区和学校,这些项目不但挽救了无数濒临危险的母亲和新生儿的生命,更为中国百姓提供了领先的母婴健康与护理知识。值得一提的是1995年开始引入的强生婴儿抚触项目,目前已经有800多家医院建立了强生婴儿标准抚触室,超过1100万的新生儿妈妈受益于医护人员教授的婴儿抚触技术。2007年,强生婴儿抚触项目被中国外资企业协会收录为“中国企业社会责任最佳案例”。2012年起,强生婴儿发起支持背奶妈妈的系列活动,提倡产后恢复工作的新妈妈坚持母乳喂养宝宝,活动已获得无数新妈妈的认同,近3万个临时哺乳贴被申领为背奶妈妈创造临时哺乳空间。

在面对类似汶川地震、青海玉树地震、海啸、台风、冰雪与洪涝等各种自然灾害,强生总是也毫不犹豫地立即伸出援手、奉献爱心。强生公司在全球和在中国的不同场合多次被权威媒体或组织评为最受尊重的雇主或最佳企业社会责任的公司。

我们还与其他强生在华企业在中国共同开展了如下社会公益活动,并在2009年,荣膺“2009年中国十大慈善企业”奖,2013年荣获第八届“中华慈善奖”:

  • 支持中国红十字会开展中国造血干细胞库的建设,同时还积极号召强生员工参与捐献活动,至今已有近2800名强生在华员工光荣地成为造血干细胞血样捐献志愿者。2007年,获得“中国红十字勋章”。
  • 强生开始协助联合国儿童发展基金会发起的“母亲安全项目”,与西藏妇女儿童工作委员会在西藏的5个试点县合作展开倡导在医院生产的教育项目,并将项目扩展到西藏自治区的7个县。
  • 针对西部地区医疗卫生状况相对落后,妇幼保健水平较低,孕产妇和围产期婴儿死亡率较高的现状,支持上海宋庆龄基金会发起的“母婴平安项目”
  • 为“阜阳市艾滋病贫困儿童救助协会”提供援助,资助了876多名艾滋病孤儿,并帮助和关注受艾滋病和贫困影响的儿童的健康成长。
  • 通过支持“儿童安全”项目,帮助600多万名家长和儿童了解生活中潜在的危险因素,避免儿童意外伤害的发生。
  • 通过资助“国际青年成就组织(Junior Achievement)”举办的全球商业道德课程,帮助项目覆盖高校培训13,700多名莘莘学子们在正式踏入社会前树立正确的职业道德观和价值取向。

强生一贯积极支持中国走向世界的各种活动,成为北京2008年奥运会和残奥会全球合作伙伴。强生还积极参与和支持2010上海世博会,成为世博会美国馆顶级赞助商,并在世博会上推出“点滴关爱、温暖世界”的行动,实践强生对社会 “关爱”的承诺。